Home‎ > ‎

Latest News


All Bowling Cancelled for the Foreseeable Future

posted 16 Mar 2020, 12:31 by Phil 1 Owen   [ updated 16 Mar 2020, 12:32 ]


Statement from the BCGBA

Following the Government announcement this afternoon it is with great sadness that we now have to suspend all bowling for the foreseeable future.
Based on the advice announced we need to avoid all mass gatherings and sporting event as these will no longer be supported by the emergency services.
If anyone within your household has symptoms then the whole family need to isolate for 14 days.
Limit social contact wherever possible and encourage working from home.
At risk groups - those over 70 and those with medical conditions need to take additional care.
All BCGBA meetings should now be postponed as un-necessary travel should be avoided. Contact in Pubs, Clubs and restaurants to be avoided.
Taking this all into account all leagues should now suspend matches until such time as we are given an all clear to resume competition.
All BCGBA and BCGLCC Competitions are now suspended until further notice this should include all qualifier events.
As a Bowls community we need to look after our members and I encourage you to follow the advice being given and support those we are able to at this very difficult time.
Mark Bircumshaw (CEO)



Premier Team Averages 1994 - 2019 Updated

posted 8 Oct 2019, 00:35 by Phil 1 Owen   [ updated 8 Oct 2019, 00:44 ]

 All time player Averages updated for Premier League 1994 - 2019. 

 Spencer Clarke top of all-time averages with 406 wins out of 547 matches.
 Norman Harvey with most appearances with 610 out of 660 Premier matches

 100 players have appeared for the Bayley in the 26 years of the Shropshire Premier League

 Click on Link  HERE

Wem League Consolation Cup Winners

posted 6 Oct 2019, 11:49 by Phil 1 Owen

 Bayley Wem League team today Sun 6th October won the Wem league Consolation Cup.
 Beating Telepost in a match played at Greenfields, Shrewsbury.

 Result & picture below.


Norman Harvey     19 -  21  Hayden Lewis
John Potter           21 -  18  Rob Morris
Harry Church         21 -  9   Tom Butler
Ian Delves             21 - 11  Derek Flattley
James Blair           10 - 21  Clay Flattley
Pat Minton            21 -  8    Margaret Flattley
Tony Roche           21 - 18  Simon Lewis
Garry Owen           21 - 10 Paul Pritchard
Ben Hudson           21 -  7  Martin Snow
Chris Worthington   21 -  8   Glyn Rosser
                             197 - 128

Bayley won by 69

Wem League Consolation Cup

posted 2 Oct 2019, 23:17 by Phil 1 Owen   [ updated 2 Oct 2019, 23:20 ]

 Bayley Wem league team won their Consolation Cup Semi-Final last night against Unison, played at Telepost.

 They will now play Telepost in the Finals on Sunday 6th October  at Greenfields, Shrewsbury  2pm

NoSir John BayleyScoreScoreUnison
1Chris Worthington2114Simon Reynolds
2Norman Harvey2111Matthew Parry
3Craig Baugh1421Phil Tyler
4Pat Minton2119Brian Meredith
5Ian Delves2114Bob Parry
6Anthony Roche2111Evelyn Jones
7Kane Beaman216John Burton
8Harry Church2115Clive Jordan
9James Blair1521Alan Everall
10Michael Cooper2113Pete Oliver

Ashton Shield Final

posted 9 Sep 2019, 03:05 by Phil 1 Owen   [ updated 9 Sep 2019, 03:44 ]



 Bayley D Div 5, came close to winning the Ashton Shield on Saturday night 7th September at Wrockwardine Wood.
 In a closely fought match they lost by 1 chalk to Horsehay C from Div 4.

 Match Result:-

NoHorsehay CScoreScoreSJ Bayley D
1Luke Fearnall2118June Thompson
2Peter Hayward2114Arthur Thompson
3Olwen Howells2120Rose Copson
4Patrick Evans1821Marion Tibbett
5Jodie Evans921William Thompson
6Sam Simmonds1921Jill Price
7Patrick Evans (jnr)216Gill Baker
8Neil Banks ***2115Brian Rutter
9Pip Copson ***1421Andy Baker
10Guy Lewis ***218Malcolm Tibbett
 Total Points186185Total Points

Championship of the Green 2019

posted 11 Aug 2019, 11:58 by Phil 1 Owen   [ updated 11 Aug 2019, 11:58 ]

 The Championship of the Green was played today on the bottom green.

 Winner was Kane Beaman beating Craig Bough in the Final.

 Picture below:- Craig, James Blair (Chairman) and winner Kane.


Ashton Shield 2019

posted 8 Aug 2019, 08:22 by Phil 1 Owen   [ updated 8 Aug 2019, 08:51 ]

 Bayley D beat Charlton B  last night in the Semi-Final of the Aston Shield.

 Final will be held on Saturday 7th September against Horsehay C.

Scores Below:-

Played at SJ Bayley Bottom
SJ Bayley DScoreScoreCharlton B
Rose Hawkins1421Roger Vernon
Arthur Thompson1121Dave Mansell
John Hawkins2118Mick Roberts
Marion Tibbett1321Alan Pritchard
June Thompson1521Jan Mason
Played at Charlton
Charlton BScoreScoreSJ Bayley D
Allan Davies219Brian Rutter
Sharon Phillips421Frank Bowyer
Brandon Phillips221Andy Baker
Robin Leech621Jean Bowyer
Roger Cox1421Gill Baker
Combined Totals

SJ Bayley D Charlton B

Shropshire Cup Semi-Final

posted 18 Jul 2019, 00:32 by Phil 1 Owen   [ updated 18 Jul 2019, 00:34 ]

 After a good run in the Shropshire Cup, Bayley A fell to rivals St Georges by 19 chalks in the Semi-Final.

 The match was played at Monkmoor, Shrewsbury,
 Scores Below:-

Sir John BayleyScoreScoreSt Georges
Ian Delves2113Jim Kellett
Anthony Roche1521Jonathan Davies
Craig Baugh 1621Alison Cotton
Gino Farruggio Snr1321Sonya Lucas
James Blair 1521Ryan Mills
Pat Minton1721Graham Turner
Arthur Morris1821Phil Jones
Daniel Wilson1721Darren Lord
Ben Hudson 2113Steve Pessall
Aidy Ashley 1621Jim Gaut
Dan Lewis 1321Paul Beer
Garry Owen217Barry Gilder

Harris Cup Round 1

posted 10 Jul 2019, 23:39 by Phil 1 Owen   [ updated 10 Jul 2019, 23:39 ]

 Result of the First Round of the Harris Cup played last night Wednesday 10th July
Played at SJ Bayley A
SJ Bayley A Score Score Charlton A
Gino Farruggio (s)  21 20 Annette Lucas *
Pat Minton * 21 14 Warwick France *
Robin Clarke ** 21 16 Chris France *
Jan Minton ** 21 13 Dave Mansell
Tony Roche ** 21 13 Mick Cornes *
Ian Delves * 21 20 Ann Withington
Games 6 0  
Aggregate 126 96  
Played at Charlton A
Charlton A Score Score SJ Bayley A
Alan Pritchard 21 20 Craig Baugh **
Eric Pitchford * 12 21 James Blair **
Barrie Phillips 21 17 Dan Wilson
Alan Munn 13 21 Aidy Ashley *
Roger Vernon 9 21 Arthur Morris **
Bruno Alsdorf * 21 10 Garry Owen *
Games 3 3  
Aggregate 97 110  
Combined Totals
SJ Bayley A
Charlton A
Games 9 3  
Aggregate 236 193  
Handicap 3 23  
Total 239 216  

Shropshire Cup Quarter Final

posted 3 Jul 2019, 23:24 by Phil 1 Owen   [ updated 3 Jul 2019, 23:27 ]

 Bayley A reached the Semi-Final of the Shropshire Cup with a good win against Prees,
 played last night Wed 3rd July at Crescent, Shrewsbury.

 Scores below

Sir John BayleyScoreScorePrees
Aidy Ashley 1521Chris Allmark
Craig Baugh 2115Luke Grocott
James Blair 2111Jim Llewelyn
Ian Delves2021Jason Davies
Ben Hudson 2113Ian Cartlidge
Dan Lewis 2114Vin Lines
Derek Mckenzie 1721Ben Grocott
Pat Minton2111Dan Whelan
Arthur Morris1721Adrian Bromfield
Garry Owen1521Stuart Hodges
Anthony Roche2120Joan Groom
Daniel Wilson2110John Gleave

1-10 of 122